Foundation endowment
Self-reported
Endowed with USD 1.25 billion about a decade before 2026, plus about USD 700 million more since (per Halima Dangote); about 70% of spending in Nigeria
- Role
- Founder and funder
- Reported by
- Dangote family (Halima Dangote), reported by Fortune
Sources 1
Routine immunisation MoUs with Gates Foundation and six northern state governments (Kano from 2012; Bauchi, Borno, Yobe, Kaduna, Sokoto 2014-2016; through 2022)
Independently verified
The two foundations provided about 70% of state RI programme funds in year one, and the evaluation reports both paid their full committed amounts; pentavalent-3 coverage rose in all six states 2011-2021 (Yobe about 10% to nearly 60%; Sokoto about 4% to nearly 8%). No comparison group, so effects cannot be isolated
- Role
- Co-signatory and co-funder through the Aliko Dangote Foundation
- Reported by
- Population Council evaluation (Dougherty et al.), BMC Health Services Research 24:951 (2024), using NICS/MICS household surveys
Sources 2 3
Malnutrition partnership with the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation (2016-2020)
Pledged
USD 100 million combined commitment over five years (split between the foundations not stated); no delivery or outcome figures found
- Role
- Co-announced and co-funded through the Aliko Dangote Foundation
- Reported by
- Scaling Up Nutrition Movement (announcement)
Sources 4
Dangote Micro Grant Scheme - commitment (2012)
Pledged
N10 billion earmarked for vulnerable women in all 774 local government areas, as one-off N10,000 cash transfers
- Role
- Chairman of the foundation
- Reported by
- Aliko Dangote Foundation, reported by The Guardian (Nigeria) and BusinessDay
Sources 5 6
Dangote Micro Grant Scheme - disbursed (to July 2021)
Self-reported
About N4.2 billion disbursed to over 400,000 women in 12 states (headline says N4.3bn); earlier report: about 360,000 women in 10 states (about 40% of target) plus 34,000 in Katsina
- Role
- Chairman of the foundation
- Reported by
- Dangote Group (Mansur Ahmed, Group Executive Director), reported by BusinessDay; The Guardian (Nigeria)
Sources 5 6
Education commitment (January 2026)
Pledged
USD 688 million (N1 trillion) over 10 years; initial 45,000 students in 2026, target 1.3 million students by 2035 (STEM, girls' literacy, teacher training, school-to-work)
- Role
- Founder of the foundation
- Reported by
- Aliko Dangote Foundation, reported by Alliance magazine
Sources 7
Lagos State University female hostel (2026)
Pledged
N600 million pledged for a female student hostel; disbursement not reported
- Role
- Donor through the foundation
- Reported by
- THISDAY
Sources 8
Bequest to charity (July 2026)
Pledged
One-third of his fortune to charity under a will the family has signed (Fortune estimates about USD 11.6-11.7 billion on an estimated USD 35.2 billion)
- Role
- Testator
- Reported by
- Halima Dangote (foundation trustee) in a Bloomberg interview, reported by Fortune
Sources 1
COVID-19 response (March 2020)
Pledged
N200 million pledged for points-of-entry health facilities, surveillance and case-management training; foundation had earlier committed about N1 billion to Ebola response
- Role
- Founder of the foundation
- Reported by
- Aliko Dangote Foundation, reported by BusinessDay
Sources 9
Revisions
26 Oct 2026 Published after review.
Something wrong? Tell the editors, with a source. Identifier aliko-dangote.